Thursday, February 15, 2007

Nite Time Roundup

(City Council Speaker Christine Quinn-Daily Politics)

Newsday's SpinCycle gives us.........Final Johnson-O'Connell numbers..........
The Nassau Board of Elections on Wednesday certified that Democrat Craig Johnson, who was sworn in as the 7th District’s state senator this week, did indeed win last week’s special election. After all the machines and paper ballots were tallied, Johnson beat Republican Maureen O’Connell by 3,637 votes.
Here is the breakdown by ballot line:
JohnsonDemocrat: 26,103Working Families: 1,529Total: 27,632
O’ConnellRepublican: 19,827Independence: 1,800Conservative: 2,368Total: 23,995...........Meanwhile The Daily Politics tells us to
Count the errors .....they found a few typos in the latest Gov Pataki.....errrr Gov Spitzer press release...........Liz Benjamin lets us know "a colleague forwarded me an e-mail from intrepid Newsday Capitol Bureau Chief Errol Cockfield in which he announces he is leaving journalism to join Gov. Eliot Spitzer’s administration. Errol’s new title will be press secretary of the Empire State Development Corp. He’ll be based in Manhattan" way to go Errol.........and we also get to see a list of Appointees-In-Waiting A reader asked for the full list of Spitzer appointees whose names have been sent to the Republican-controlled state Senate for confirmation so far. No action has been taken on any of them to date, and nothing can possibly happen until a week from Monday when the Legislature returns from his February break.
M. Patricia Smith, Commissioner, New York State Department of Labor
Karen Carpenter-Palumbo, Commissioner, Office of Alcoholism andSubstance Abuse Services
Patrick Hooker, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Markets
Robert Maccarone, Director, Probation and Correctional Alternatives
David Hansell, Commissioner, Office of Temporary Disability
Michael Burgess, Director, Office of the Aging
Mindy Bockstein, Chair and Executive Director, Consumer Protection Board
Lorraine Cortes-Vazquez, Secretary of State
Kumiki Gibson, Director, Division of Human Rights
David Swarts, Commissioner, Department of Motor Vehicles
Carol Ash, Commissioner of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
Brian Fischer, Commissioner, Department of Correctional Services
Astrid Glynn, Commissioner, Department of Transportation
Denise O’Donnell, Commissioner, Department of Criminal Justice Services
Michael Hogan, Commissioner, Office of Mental Health
Gladys Carrion, Commissioner, Office of Children and Family Services
Alexander “Pete” Grannis, Commissioner, Department of EnvironmentalConservation
Diana Jones-Ritter, Commissioner, Office of Mental Retardation andDevelopmental Disabilities ............all these folks are now collecting a state check...they are just not "official" yet..until confirmed by the State Senate...I wonder why Bruno is stallling??? and finally Quinn
vows to fight Spitzer’s health care cuts. PDF of speech here. [The Politicker]..........andy

Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?